Albuquerque Journal (Albuquerque, NM)

Six to receive state awards for arts contributions.(Final)

Byline: Journal Staff Report

Gov. Bill Richardson, first lady Barbara Richardson and members of the New Mexico Arts Commission have named six New Mexicans to receive the 30th Annual Governor's Awards for Excellence and Achievement in the Arts.

They are Paulette Atencio of Chama for Traditional Arts/Storytelling; Frances Feezer of Carlsbad for Individual Support of the Arts; Doug Hyde of Santa Fe for Visual Arts/Sculpture; Patrick Nagatani of Albuquerque for Visual Arts/Photography; Florence Miller Pierce of Albuquerque for Visual Arts/Painting; and Nancy Zeckendorf of Santa Fe for Major Contribution to the Arts.

"I join all New Mexicans in appreciation for the tremendous contribution of the arts to our state's culture and economy, and I am proud to honor these outstanding New Mexicans for their individual achievements," Richardson said. …

Log in to your account to read this article – and millions more.